Saturday, 10 December 2011

Prémio Nobel da Paz

No Dia Mundial dos Direito Humanos (ver post seguinte) o Prémio Nobel da Paz foi entregue a Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee e Tawakkul Karman, três mulheres que se distinguiram na promoção dos direitos das mulheres por meios pacíficos em circunstâncias particularmente difícies.

De acordo com o Comite Nobel, "Ellen Johnson Sirleaf is Africa’s first democratically elected female president. Since her inauguration in 2006, she has contributed to securing peace in Liberia, to promoting economic and social development, and to strengthening the position of women. Leymah Gbowee mobilized and organized women across ethnic and religious dividing lines to bring an end to the long war in Liberia, and to ensure women’s participation in elections. She has since worked to enhance the influence of women in West Africa during and after war. In the most trying circumstances, both before and during the "Arab spring", Tawakkul Karman has played a leading part in the struggle for women’s rights and for democracy and peace in Yemen."

No comments:

Post a Comment